Home > Latest News > St Georges Day Award Recipients

St Georges Day Award Recipients

11 March 2017


I am delighted to acknowledge the work of this year's recipients of St George's Day Awards in the Scout County.

Bar to the Silver Acorn

The Bar to the Silver Acorn is awarded to:

  • Andrew Williams (Group Chairman of 1st Staindrop Group and also District Executive Committee member in Teesdale District). Recognition of Andrew's long service to the Group and the District is well deserved, and his further on-going distinguished service has most recently been evidenced by Andrew's unstinting support in respect of the fuding and building of 1st Staindrop's new Scout HQ.

Silver Acorn

The Silver Acorn is awarded to:

  • Carl Hickman (Scout Leader and Acting GSL with 3rd Washington, Acting and Deputy DC, Appointments Advisory Committee member, Executive Committee member and Training Administrator in Houghton-le-Spring District and County Trainer and County Training Advisor). With so many effective roles Carl's service is clearly outstanding in nature and the award of the Silver Acorn is richly deserved at a time when Carl has also taken on the role of Acting DC in Houghton-le-Spring.
  • Sharon Major (Group Administrator 1st South Hetton (Holy Trinity) and 1st Peterlee Groups, Nights Away Advisor, District Explorer Scout Commissioner and District Commissioner in Peterlee District and County Training Advisor). The list of Sharon's official roles does not do justice to her time commitment to Scouting in Peterlee and the Scout County and the award of the Silver Acorn is suitable recognition of her outstanding service as she completes her time as District Commissioner in Peterlee.

I have already written to Andrew, Carl and Sharon to pass on my personal congratulations on the recognition of their good services and I am sure that the entire County will join be in saying BRAVO!


David Stokes

County Commissioner

Your Comments

Leave a Reply